Someone's in the Kitchen With Martha

For Christmas I received a generously sized gift certificate to Amazon.com from my bosses, Jay & Kibby. Besides buying a nifty Bamboo Tablet, (which was no picnic to install btw – if you are considering one email me, I’ll give you the low down on the ups and downs of mine.)

I also treated myself to two new cookbooks. I scoped out quite a few baking books before choosing the Martha Stewart Baking Handbook. It is huge! So far I really like it. It has a great section that goes over basic baking equipment, ingredients and techniques, including those obscure baking terms that I’ve heard my mother say, but didn’t always quite understand. I can’t speak for how the book would stand up to an expert baker’s eye, but as a beginner, I quite like it. It includes six recipe sections, including simple baked goods, cookies, cakes, pies (and cobblers, tarts, etc.), yeasted baked goods, and pastries. This book is going to get a lot of use thanks to the gift my awesome parents gave me this year.

Big_edna

Meet Edna. She likes to party.

I am looking for a simple cozy pattern for her. Anyone know a good one? I can always wing it, but it would be nice to have something to work with.

The other cookbook I got was also a Martha. I can’t wait to try some more of the recipes in Great Food Fast, another Martha Book – I know, I have a Martha problem. I couldn’t help myself! The recipes are divided into four seasons, then each season has several soups, salads, and THEN several entrees based  each: fish, poultry, meat, and vegetables. (Oh – and desserts) The first thing I made from this book, strangely enough since I had an entire baking cookbook right next to it, was a Blueberry Crumb Cake. It was pretty damned good. And Edna creamed that butter like a champ! Go Edna, GO!

Leave a comment

Filed under Editorials

Leave a Reply

