Estoy en amor con un queso

Queso245x205
<——- Queso Fresco, my new favorite cheese.  One of the great things about living in Danbury, CT is that there is a huge variety of hispanic, south american, and latin foods on hand.  Since these tend to be my very favorite foods, you could say that a trip to my local C-Town is for me, what outlet shopping is to fashionistas. I love me some mystery ingredients, and C-Town is swimming in them.

I’ve only just recently begun to really dive into my newfound passion for cooking. I have always loved the idea of cooking, but in the past couple of years I have really come to love and appreciate every little bit of it.  Perhaps this appreciation is due to my experience formulating bath and body products. Dealing with scents from the construction perspective forces you to pay attention to different layers of scents and aroma, pulling apart a single fragrance into a variety of notes.  I suppose it is only natural that the same concept would begin to apply to the food I was cooking at home.  Only with food, there is a whole other level to excite me, FLAVOR.  Aroma, flavor, texture, the whole package just gets me all riled up.

Anyway, my point was that since I am a relative beginner to the kitchen arts, there are many many ingredients that are completely foreign to me.  Visiting a grocery store like C-Town is really thrilling, because it reminds me just how far I have to go when it comes to learning to cook. Queso Fresco is just the first of many ingredients that will thrill me, but it really is something special.  Looking for a taste sensation? Make yourself some enchiladas and fill those bad boys with a mixture of Queso Fresco and shredded chicken.  Pair it with some Jasmine Rice boiled in chicken broth, turmeric, paprika, and sofrito. So so so good.  The Queso won’t really melt inside the enchilada. Instead, it holds a
soft, spongy kind of texture similar to Indian Paneer, but with a much
stronger flavor.  Speaking of Paneer, my next intense cooking mission is to make a batch of it at home, then attempt to create a simple Indian dish for it to swim in. Maybe Palak Paneer? Maybe? We’ll see.

Want to learn more about Mexican Cheeses? Check out this page, it covers all the basics!

4 Comments

Filed under Cheese, Editorials

4 responses to “Estoy en amor con un queso

  1. Heather

    Mmmmm… delicious cheese…

  2. One of my favorite snacks to this day (introduced by my parents) is this cheese with a slice of guava (canned from Goya). Poke a toothpick through it and you got yourself a treat!

  3. (Going to find some guava.)

Leave a Reply

